Undergraduate Student Fellowships

Jacqueline Morris was the Center’s first undergraduate honors thesis student. She was a rising senior, majoring in Psychology and Public Policy, when she passed away in a tragic car accident in her native Arizona in 2000. Her parents established the Jacqueline Anne Morris Memorial Foundation to support undergraduate students who, like their daughter, are “dynamic, bright, ambitious and idealistic.”

The foundation has endowed a fellowship program to support students who are interested in conducting research in an area of child and family policy. Up to six awards are granted each year. Each selected student receives $500-1,000 to cover research-related expenses.

2018-19 Morris Fellows:


Lillian Blanchard, psychology major and Child Policy Research certificate
Honors thesis:  “Post Adoption Parent Training: Effects on the Parent-Child Dyad”
Mentor:  Katie Rosanbalm, Senior Research Scientist, Duke Center for Child and Family Policy




Maram Elnagheeb, public policy and sociology major, Innovation and Entrepreneurship certificate
Honors thesis:  “Effects of Civic Engagement Education and Participation on the Personal Development of Durham Middle School Youth”
Mentor:  Jan Riggsbee, Professor of the Practice, Program in Education