faculty

Search our directory by name or area of expertise to find experts on child maltreatment, changing family structure, child maltreatment, children and technology, poverty and inequality, adolescent substance abuse, violence prevention and more.

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

Elizabeth Ananat

Associate Professor of Public Policy and Economics; Faculty Fellow, Center for Child and Family Policy

230 Rubenstein Hall
(919) 613-7302
elizabeth.ananat@duke.edu

Economics, Poverty and Inequality

More Info »

Allison Ashley-Koch

Professor of Medical Genetics, Department of Medicine; Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

300 N Duke St.
(919) 684-1805
allison.ashleykoch@duke.edu

ADHD

More Info »

Leslie Babinski

Assistant Research Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies, Sanford School of Public Policy; Associate Director, Center for Child and Family Policy; Director, Child Policy Research Certificate Program

216 Rubenstein Hall
(919) 613-9296
leslie.babinski@duke.edu

Education, Program Evaluation, Child Development, Early Childhood

More Info »

Daniel Belsky

Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine, Duke University School of Medicine; Research Assistant Professor, SSRI; Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

2020 W Main St., Suite 201
(919) 613-4534
daniel.belsky@duke.edu

More Info »

Linda Burton

Dean of Social Sciences, Trinity College of Arts & Sciences, and Center for Child and Family Policy Faculty Fellow

102-D Allen Building
(919) 668-2728
linda.burton@duke.edu

Family Structure, Poverty and Inequality, Child Development

More Info »

Madeline Carrig

Associate Director of the Data Core

Erwin Square Mill Building, Bay B, Room 136
(919) 681-9677
madeline.carrig@duke.edu

More Info »

Avshalom Caspi

Edward M. Arnett Professor of Psychology and Neuroscience and Center for Child and Family Policy Faculty Fellow

Grey House, Suite 201
(919) 684-5835
avshalom.caspi@duke.edu

Gene-environment Interaction, Child Development

More Info »

Tanya Chartrand

Professor of Marketing and Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

tanya.chartrand@duke.edu

Children and Marketing

More Info »

Christina Christopoulos

Research Scholar

Erwin Square Mill Building, Bay C, Room 207
(919) 668-3278
dgreek@duke.edu

Children's Mental Health, Program Evaluation, Child Maltreatment, Preschool, Child Development

More Info »

Charles Clotfelter

Z. Smith Reynolds Professor of Public Policy and Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

221 Sanford Building
(919) 613-7361
charles.clotfelter@duke.edu

Economics, Public Policy, Law

More Info »

Doriane Coleman

Professor of Law and Center for Child and Family Policy Faculty Fellow

Duke Law School 210 Science Drive
(919) 613-7075
dlc@law.duke.edu

Children and the Law

More Info »

Philip Cook

ITT/Terry Sanford Professor of Public Policy; Professor of Economics and Sociology; Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

215 Sanford Building
(919) 613-7360
pcook@duke.edu

Economics, Crime and Juvenile Justice, Education

More Info »

William Copeland

Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, and Faculty Fellow, Center for Child and Family Policy

905 W. Main Street, Suite 22
(919) 687-4686
william.copeland@duke.edu

Children's Mental Health, Gene-environment Interaction

More Info »

Elizabeth Costello

Associate Director of Research, Center for Child and Family Policy; Professor of Medical Psychology, Department of Psychiatry

212 Rubenstein Hall
(919) 613-9335
jcostell@psych.mc.duke.edu

Gene-environment Interaction, Adolescent Substance Abuse, Children's Mental Health, Child Development

More Info »

John Curry

Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and Psychology and Neuroscience; Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

Lakeview, 2608 Erwin Road
(919) 681-0020
john.curry@duke.edu

Adolescent Substance Abuse

More Info »

William Darity

Samuel DuBois Cook Professor of Public Policy, African and African American Studies and Economics; Director, Duke Consortium on Social Equality; and Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

238 Sanford Building
(919) 613-7336
william.darity@duke.edu

Economics, Education

More Info »

Erin Davisson

Research Scientist

Erwin Square Mill Building, Bay B, Room 135
(919) 684-1088
ekb8@duke.edu

Social Psychology

More Info »

Geraldine Dawson

Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and Professor: Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences, Pediatrics, and Psychology & Neuroscience; Director, Duke Center for Autism and Brain Development; Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

Pavilion East At Lakeview, 2608 Erwin Road 3126, Duke University Med Center
(919) 668-0070
geraldine.dawson@duke.edu

Developmental Psychology

More Info »

Kenneth Dodge

Director, Center for Child and Family Policy; William McDougall Professor of Public Policy; Professor of Psychology and Neuroscience

222 Rubenstein Hall
(919) 613-9303
dodge@duke.edu

Youth Violence Prevention, Child Maltreatment, Public Policy, Adolescent Substance Abuse, Children's Mental Health, Education, Early Childhood

More Info »

Gavan Fitzsimons

F.M. Kirby Research Fellow and Professor of Marketing and Psychology; Faculty Fellow, Center for Child and Family Policy

Fuqua School of Business
(919) 660-7793
gavan@duke.edu

Children and Marketing

More Info »

Anna Gassman-Pines

Associate Professor of Public Policy and Psychology and Neuroscience; Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

234 Rubenstein Hall
(919) 613-7301
agassman.pines@duke.edu

Poverty and Inequality, Child Development

More Info »

Christina Gibson-Davis

Associate Professor of Public Policy, Sociology, and Psychology and Neuroscience; Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

228 Rubenstein Hall
(919) 613-7364
cgibson@duke.edu

Family Structure, Poverty and Inequality

More Info »

Beth Gifford

Director, Durham Children’s Data Center; Director, Program Evaluation Services; Research Scientist

214 Rubenstein Hall
(919) 613-9294
beth.gifford@duke.edu

Program Evaluation, Public Policy, Child Maltreatment, Children and the Law, Education, Poverty and Inequality

More Info »

Jennifer Godwin

Research Scientist

(401) 644-6818
jgodwin@duke.edu

Data and Survey Methods, Economics, Program Evaluation

More Info »

Megan Golonka

Research Scientist

Erwin Square Mill Building, Bay B, Room 125
(919) 681-3927
megan.golonka@duke.edu

More Info »

Ben Goodman

Research Scientist, Center for Child and Family Policy; Senior Fellow, Center for Child and Family Health

Erwin Square Mill Building, Bay C, Room 218
(919) 668-4126
ben.goodman@duke.edu

Early Childhood, Parenting, Program Evaluation

More Info »

Ahmad Hariri

Professor of Psychology and Neuroscience and Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

317 Sociology-Psychology Building
(919) 681-8408
ahmad.hariri@duke.edu

Neurogenetics, Cognitive Neuroscience

More Info »

Angel Harris

Professor of Sociology; Faculty Fellow, Center for Child and Family Policy

Duke Box 90088
(919) 660-5787
angel.harris@duke.edu

More Info »

Katherine Hobbs Knutson

Medical Instructor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences; Faculty Fellow, Center for Child and Family Policy

DUMC, 2608 Erwin Road, Lakeview Pavilion East, Suite 300
(919) 668-2456
katherine.hobbsknutson@duke.edu

More Info »

Rick Hoyle

Associate Director, Center for Child and Family Policy; Professor of Psychology and Neuroscience

321 Sociology-Psychology Building
(919) 660-5791
rhoyle@duke.edu

Problem Behaviors, Peer Influence

More Info »

Scott Huettel

Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

243E LSRC
(919) 668-5286
scott.huettel@duke.edu

Cognitive Neuroscience

More Info »

Scott Kollins

Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

2608 Erwin Road, Suite 300
(919) 681-0014
kolli001@mc.duke.edu

ADHD

More Info »

Sarah Komisarow

Assistant Professor of Public Policy; Faculty Fellow, Center for Child and Family Policy

Rubenstein Hall, Room 232
(919) 613-9298
sarah.komisarow@duke.edu

More Info »

Cynthia Kuhn

Professor of Pharmacology & Cancer Biology and Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

Room 106, Research Park 2
(919) 684-8828, (919) 684-6583
ckuhn@duke.edu

Adolescent Substance Abuse

More Info »

Helen Ladd

Susan B. King Professor of Public Policy and Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

214A Sanford Building
(919) 613-7352
hladd@duke.edu

Economics, Education

More Info »

Jennifer Lansford

Research Professor, Sanford School of Public Policy, and Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

(217) 722-0965
lansford@duke.edu

Youth Violence Prevention, Peer Influence, Parenting

More Info »

Nicole Lawrence

Research Scientist

Erwin Square Mill Building, Bay C, Room 224
(919) 668-3282
nicole.lawrence@duke.edu

Program Evaluation, Child Maltreatment, Education, Children's Mental Health

More Info »

Patrick Malone

Senior Research Scientist

(919) 307-6437
malone.ps@gmail.com

Data and Survey Methods, Adolescent Substance Abuse, Youth Violence Prevention, Child Development, Problem Behaviors, Peer Influence, Program Evaluation

More Info »

Terrie Moffitt

Nannerl O. Keohane University Professor, Departments of Psychology and Neuroscience, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, and Institute for Genome Sciences and Policy, and Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

(919) 684-5831
terrie.moffitt@duke.edu

Gene-environment Interaction, Child Development

More Info »

Robert Murphy

Associate Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

411 West Chapel Hill St., Suite 908, Durham
(919) 419-3474
robert.murphy@duke.edu

Children's Mental Health, Child Maltreatment

More Info »

Clara Muschkin

Associate Research Professor of Public Policy; Director, North Carolina Education Research Data Center

220 Rubenstein Hall
(919) 613-9302
muschkin@duke.edu

Education, Demographics, Public Policy, Early Childhood, Peer Influence, Poverty and Inequality

More Info »

Karen O'Donnell

Associate Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

1211 West Chapel Hill Street, Durham, NC 27707
(919) 419-3474
odonn002@mc.duke.edu

Early Childhood, Child Development

More Info »

Candice Odgers

Professor of Public Policy and Psychology and Neuroscience; Senior Associate Director of the Center for Child and Family Policy

218 Rubenstein Hall
(919) 613-9239
candice.odgers@duke.edu

Problem Behaviors, Adolescent Substance Abuse, Children and Technology, Child Development

More Info »

Eve Puffer

Assistant Professor of Psychology & Neuroscience and Center for Child and Family Policy Faculty Fellow

Office 235, Soc-Psych Building
(919) 660-5734
eve.puffer@duke.edu

Clinical Psychology

More Info »

Martha Putallaz

Professor of Psychology and Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

(919) 660-5736 (Psychology), (919) 668-9108 (Duke TIP)
putallaz@duke.edu

Peer Influence, Child Development

More Info »

David Rabiner

Associate Dean, Trinity College and Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

Academic Advising Center
(919) 684-6217
drabiner@duke.edu

ADHD, Youth Violence Prevention, Program Evaluation

More Info »

Jerome Reiter

Mrs. Alexander Hehmeyer Associate Professor of Statistical Science and Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

112A Old Chemistry
(919) 668-5227
jerry@stat.duke.edu

Data and Survey Methods

More Info »

Katie Rosanbalm

Research Scholar

Erwin Square Mill Bldg, Bay C, Room 209
(919) 668-3294
katie.rosanbalm@duke.edu

Child Maltreatment, Children's Mental Health, Program Evaluation, Early Childhood

More Info »

Joel Rosch

Visiting Lecturer, Sanford School of Public Policy

205C Rubenstein Hall
(919) 613-9291
jbrrosch@duke.edu

Crime and Juvenile Justice, Program Evaluation, Public Policy, Children's Mental Health, Peer Influence, Adolescent Substance Abuse, Child Maltreatment, Education, Youth Violence Prevention

More Info »

Manan Roy

Research Scientist

215 Rubenstein Hall
(919) 613-9359
mr322@duke.edu

More Info »

Seth Sanders

Professor of Economics and Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

221A Social Sciences Building
(919) 660-1898
seth.sanders@duke.edu

Labor Economics / Economics of the Household, Economics, Microeconomics, Mathematical and Quantitative Methods, Economic Growth and Technological Change

More Info »

Amy Schulting

Research Scientist

Minneapolis, MN
(612) 756-3305
amy.schulting@duke.edu

Public Policy, Early Childhood, Education

More Info »

Rochelle Schwartz-Bloom

Professor of Pharmacology and Cancer Biology and Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

B238 LSRC
(919) 684-5181
schwartz.bloom@duke.edu

Education, Adolescent Substance Abuse

More Info »

Kathleen Sikkema

Professor of Psychology and Neuroscience and Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

238 Sociology-Psychology Building
(919) 684-9073
kathleen.sikkema@duke.edu

Children's Mental Health, Adolescent Substance Abuse

More Info »

Frank Sloan

J. Alexander McMahon Professor of Health Policy and Management and Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

236 Social Sciences Building
(919) 613-9358
fsloan@duke.edu

Health Economics, Economics, Labor Economics / Economics of the Household, Behavioral Economics

More Info »

Elizabeth Snyder-Fickler

Research Scientist

Erwin Square Mill Building, Bay C, Room 222
(919) 668-3288
liz.snyder@duke.edu

Program Evaluation, Education, Child Maltreatment, Children's Mental Health

More Info »

Timothy Strauman

Professor of Psychology and Neuroscience and Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

316 Sociology-Psychology Building
(919) 660-5709
tjstraum@duke.edu

Children's Mental Health

More Info »

Jeffrey Swanson

Associate Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

Brightleaf Square, Suite 23A
(919) 682-4827; (919) 682-8394
jeffrey.swanson@duke.edu

Children's Mental Health

More Info »

Scott Swartzwelder

Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Professor of Psychology and Neuroscience, and Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

VA Medical Center, 508 Fulton St. Durham
(919) 286-6810
hss@duke.edu

Adolescent Substance Abuse, Child Development

More Info »

Makeba Wilbourn

Assistant Professor of Psychology and Neuroscience and Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

214 Soc-Psych Building
(919) 660-5795
makeba.wilbourn@duke.edu

Child Development, Early Childhood, Cognitive Neuroscience

More Info »

Wilkie Wilson Jr.

Research Professor of Prevention Science, Social Science Research Institute, and Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

VA Med Ctr
(919) 949-8063
wawilson@duke.edu

Adolescent Substance Abuse

More Info »

Li-Tzy Wu

Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and Faculty Fellow of the Center for Child and Family Policy

Duke South Hospital 3521
(919) 889-9369, (919) 668-6067
litzy.wu@duke.edu

More Info »